News Flash

Current Sheriff's Office News

Posted on: January 22, 2020

Sheriff John Samaniego Appointed to President Trump's Commission on Law Enforcement

(FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE) Sheriff John Samaniego has been appointed to serve on President Donald Trump’s Commission on Law Enforcement.  On January 22, 2020, Sheriff John Samaniego, along with 15 other law enforcement leaders throughout the nation, were sworn in by US Attorney General William Barr.  President Trump created this Commission by Executive Order No. 13896.  The Executive Order instructs the Commission to research “Important current issues facing law enforcement and the criminal justice system.”  The Commission will meet monthly for the next year and then report its findings to the Attorney General, who will submit a final report to President Trump.  

 Sheriff Samaniego is currently in his second term as Sheriff and has served for more than 40 years in law enforcement.  Prior to serving as Sheriff, he served 12 years as the county’s Chief Deputy. Earlier in his law enforcement career, Samaniego served as the commander of the West Alabama Narcotics Task Force, prior to serving as the Assistant Chief of Police of the Tuscaloosa Police Department.  He is a graduate of the FBI National Academy, the DEA’s Drug Unit Commanders Academy, the U.S. Secret Service Executive Protection School, the FBI National Executive Institute and the National Sheriffs Institute. Samaniego holds a law degree from the Birmingham School of Law and a Bachelor of Science degree in Social Work and Criminal Justice from the University of Alabama.

Sheriff Samaniego stated, “I am truly grateful and humbled by the opportunity to serve the interests of our country and our nation’s law enforcement officers.  I applaud President Trump for the vision and directives he has set forth for this Commission and I will work tirelessly to represent Shelby County and the state of Alabama. Most importantly, I will strive to deliver to President Trump, along with my fellow Commissioners, recommendations that will better serve our citizens, safeguard liberties, and encourage and support our nation’s law enforcement and their families.” 

Sheriff Samaniego will serve on the President’s Commission alongside the following:

• David Bowdich, Deputy Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation
• James Clemmons, Sheriff, Richmond County, North Carolina
• D. Christopher Evans, Chief of Operations, Drug Enforcement Administration
• Frederick Frazier, City Councilman, McKinney, Texas
• Robert Gualtieri, Sheriff, Pinellas County, Florida
• Gina Hawkins, Chief of Police, Fayetteville, North Carolina Police Department
• Regina Lombardo, Acting Deputy Director, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives
• Erica MacDonald, United States Attorney, District of Minnesota
• Ashley Moody, Attorney General, State of Florida
• Nancy Parr, Commonwealth’s Attorney, Chesapeake, Virginia
• Craig Price, Secretary of Public Safety, State of South Dakota
• Gordon Ramsay, Chief of Police, Wichita, Kansas Police Department
• David Rausch, Director, Tennessee Bureau of Investigation
• James Smallwood, Police Officer, Metropolitan Nashville Police Department
• Donald Washington, Director, United States Marshals Service

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Current Sheriff's Office News

Promotional Announcements

Posted on: December 2, 2020

New Non-Emergency Phone Number

Posted on: September 25, 2020

Human Remains Identified

Posted on: August 26, 2020

Remains Located

Posted on: August 17, 2020

Death Investigations

Posted on: August 17, 2020

Press Release

Posted on: May 21, 2020

Update on Robbery Investigation

Posted on: April 19, 2020

Residential Fire Investigation

Posted on: April 15, 2020

Operational Changes Due to COVID 19

Posted on: April 3, 2020

Shooting Investigation

Posted on: March 29, 2020

Flooding Hazards

Posted on: February 10, 2020