Shelby County Sheriff's Office - Sheriff John Samaniego
My Shelby SO










Inmate Listing
Dispatch Log

Shelby County Sheriff's Office, Alabama

The word "Sheriff" is of English derivation, a contraction of the words "shire" (county) and "reeve" (an agent of the king). Remember the "Sheriff of Nottingham"? He and his counterparts weren't very popular were they? They held office either because their father did, or they received what was termed "royal appointment" -- (based not on abilities, but instead by what particular favors they had done for the crown). Their remuneration depended upon how much taxes they collected -- so you can readily understand what their principal duty was and why they resorted in some cases to "less than ethical" methods of collection.

Today's Sheriff is the chief law enforcement officer of his county by virtue of public acclaim, in the form of election every four years by the eligible voting populace of his county.

His chief deputy is appointed by the Sheriff to help him with his duties and act as chief coordinator.

In most offices the Sheriff's personnel are unique in that all functions of the office are performed by any deputy, whether the assignment be in the corrections field, the court system, or the law enforcement division. For example, he may act as a bailiff or a jailer, transport a prisoner, serve a civil process, or patrol a road, all in the same day.

It is for this reason the Sheriff's Office operates in such a smooth manner and on such an economical scale, resulting in great benefit to the taxpayers.

For more historical information, please visit The Shelby County Historical Society’s page on the History of Shelby County Sheriffs.

Former Sheriffs
James Hamilton 1818 – 1820
William B. Arnold1820 – 1822
Ezekiel Henry1822 – 1827
James M. Nabors1827 – 1829
Jacob D. Shelly1829 – 1831
Martin H. McHenry1831 – 1834
Thomas Toomey1834 – 1837
Archibald Sloan1837 – 1840
Benjamin F. Randall1840 – 1843
Thomas H. Brasher1843 – 1846
Benjamin F. Randall1846 – 1849
James M. Finley1849 – 1852
Hudson W. Nelson1852 – 1855
John T. McCormick1855
William P. Reeves1855 – 1856
Todd R. Wyatt1856 – 1857
John Edmondson1857
Henry J. Sawyer1857 – 1860
Richard H. Brasher1860 – 1863
James Walton1863 – 1865
James H. Duran1865
Charles B. Elliott1865 – 1866
Columbus C. Cunningham1866
Thomas Harrison1866 – 1868
Lewis H. Duyck1868 – 1869
Thomas Harrison1869 – 1872
Francis A. Nelson1872 – 1877
Rufus M. DeShazo1877 – 1880
Francis A. Nelson1880 – 1884
Edwin F. Vest1884 – 1888
William R. Carter1888 – 1892
Hudson W. Nelson1892 – 1896
Edwin F. Vest1896 – 1899
Junius L. Walthall1899 – 1900
Robert F. Cox1900 – 1906
James H. Fulton1906 – 1909
Henry M. Norris1909 – 1910
John R. Allan1911 – 1915
James H. Fulton1915 – 1918
John A. “Andrew” Jackson1919 – 1922
James J. Falkner1923 – 1926
Curtis J. Falkner1927 – 1929
Knox E. Wooley1929 – 1934
Claude H. Fore1935 – 1938
Walter B. “Bun” White1939 – 1942
Luther T. Bozeman1943 – 1950
Alva E. “Bud” Norwood1950 – 1954
Hugh M. Sims1955 – 1958
Charles H. “Chuck” Harris1959
Charles P. “Red” Walker1959 – 1978
James F. “Buddy” Glasgow1979 – 1990
James L. Jones1991 – 2002
Chris D. Curry2003 – 2014
John Samaniego2015 – Current


© Shelby County Sheriff's Office, 2003. All Rights Reserved. Legal/Privacy | Site Map